INFOGRAPHIC • Our Affair with Stuff

We all have an affair with stuff and it’s a love-hate relationship.

I remember receiving my first paycheck as a waiter and immediately purchased a pair of shoes in the same week.

It’s my money and I deserve this,” was how I justified spending over a hundred dollars (ie. half of that check) on this pair of kicks.

I protected that pair of shoes; wearing it only on “special” occasion. Love turned sour when the sole started wearing thin in less than six months.

When I first read the article “21 Surprising Statistics That Reveal How Much Stuff We Actually Own” by Joshua Becker , I went down the memory lane of my own affair with stuff. Click on the article for links to the statistics.

Stuff_1
Section of the Infographic inspired by Joshua Becker of “Becoming Minimalist”.

Clothes, Glorious Clothes

I grew up in a low-income family and getting new clothes was a once-a-year event during Chinese New Year.

When I became financially independent, frequent trips to the mall resulted in an accumulation of clothing.

While I may not have 30 outfits to keep me looking fresh throughout the month, I still have an over-abundance of threads. Who needs over six pairs of jeans, right?


Stuff_2
Section of the Infographic inspired by Joshua Becker of “Becoming Minimalist”.

Acting Martha Stewart

I used to own a 700+ square feet condominium; a small space compared to the many single-family homes in the United States.

Regardless of the size, it is very easy to accumulate stuff as we feel the need to fill up space.

From framed art for the walls to picture frames for the coffee table, I ended up buying storage bins to categorize themed and seasonal decorations.


Stuff_3
Section of the Infographic inspired by Joshua Becker of “Becoming Minimalist”.

Store away or give away

After selling my condominium, I rented a storage unit to hold the stuff I could not fit at a friend’s house (who generously provided temporary dwelling). I soon realized that I don’t miss those I-cannot-remember-what-they-are things.

Why are we paying someone to keep stuff that we eventually don’t even know to care about? Try donation centers and dumpsters… giving is a much more liberating act.


Catch a glimpse into my decluttering journey

Click here to see complete infographic.

Leave a comment