A Year After Stepping Off • Part 2

August 2, 2015. 2:55pm. The plane on route to Chicago just pulled out from its gate.

As the familiar landscape of Oklahoma City, a place I call home, shrunk in size and faded in layers of cloud, I settled into my seat with a little bit of nerves and a whole lot of anticipation.

I was on a mission of discovery shortly after ending a full-time career between three companies within a span of twelves years.  Here’s a continuation from my earlier reflection.

(6) Staying Caffeinated [& Connected]

Coffee Conversations

Part of my journey took me to Uganda in September 2015 where I got to witness a business on a mission. One of the highlights of this trip was getting a glimpse of the idea behind a “third space”. Endiro Coffee believes in providing a space for people to “work, meet friends, plan, and dream”.

Unlike working for a company where you have co-workers, it is easy to remain isolated through the daily grind of running a business. I found the value of meeting with people throughout the week to exchange ideas and dreams. Having a caffeinated conversation helps too.


(7) The Bigger Picture

Big Picture

Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the inheritance as your reward. You are serving the Lord Christ – Colossians 3:23-24

Being your own boss is not necessarily better than working for others. In both cases, we have to work with people and that itself will present a set of challenges. I am still learning and experiencing the joy of anchoring in the true source of satisfaction.


(8) Learning to Slow Down

Slow Down

Getting away from the city (and from emails and social media notifications) is my way of unwinding. While I may always have my camera phone handy to capture memories, having no Internet connectivity forces me to disconnect digitally and connect with the here-&-now.


(9) Be Ready to be Flexible

Detour

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord. “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” – Isaiah 55:8-9

One of the biggest challenges faced last year was not from running my own business but something closer to home. After a quick stopover back in Oklahoma City for Christmas and New Year, I returned to Singapore to celebrate Chinese New Year with my parents, brother, sister-in-law, and nephew.

Being able to manage my business remotely as long as I have Internet connectivity provided lots of flexibility. That includes spending more time in Singapore. And more specifically, when my mom fell and broke her hip two weeks prior to my return to the U.S., a two-month visit turned into four.


(10) Have fun loving others & loving fun

Decluttering has been part of this journey, going as far back as 2010. With the desire to have lesser things (or simply not allowing possessions to determine one’s value), I am able to devote more time deepening relationships.

And as I continue to capture milestones on Instagram, the most recent “Eat. Love. Pun.” series also reflected something beyond my love for food and puns. I find a food pun, compose an interactivegram, and consume the food I used in the composition. That way, I don’t accumulate stuff as I nerd-out!

Right now, I just have a hard time letting go of my Mr. Potato Head collections for the “TotForTheDay” series. LOL!


Leave a comment